Skip Navigation LinksBoard-Member-Biographies

​​​​​​​Board Member Biographies


NoPhoto.png Vacant, Non Executive Chairman

   This position is currently vacant.






ultan courtney.jpg Ultan Courtney

Biography coming soon.​​



NoPhoto.png  Frank Allen

Frank Allen is an independent financial consultant and former Chief Executive of the Railway Procurement Agency (RPA) from 2002 to 2012. In this period, RPA had responsibility for building the first two, Red and Green, lines of the Luas light rail system, and for extending them to the Docklands, Cherrywood and CityWest. Frank is a graduate of UCC and MIT. He previously worked for the World Bank in Washington DC, arranging finance for infrastructure development in developing countries and in Eastern Europe and was Head of Infrastructure Finance for KBC Bank in Ireland. He is Director of an MSc/Graduate Diploma in Sustainable Investment offered by the Institute of Bankers in Ireland/UCD.​



aidan murphy.png  Aidan Murphy

Biography coming soon.​






christine moran.jpg Christine Moran

Christine Moran was appointed to the Board of CIE in July 2015. She is a previous executive director of KBC Ireland Bank plc where she held a number of senior leadership roles and has extensive experience in the areas of strategic development, audit, finance and risk management. She has been a director or member of a number of public bodies, not for profit organisations and charities i.e. the First Advisory Group to the Irish Marine Development Office and Enactus Ireland. She trained and qualified as a chartered accountant with PWC (Dublin) and completed two international assignments with PWC Belgium and PWC New York and is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland. She is a graduate of UCD (Batchelor of Commerce and Diploma in Professional Accounting) and is a Certified Bank Director.



Ruairi OFlynn.jpg Ruairi O'Flynn

Ruairi O’Flynn was appointed to the Board in July 2015. He is also on the Boards of FBD Holdings plc, Canada Life International Reinsurance, and Irish Life Investment Managers. He was previously CEO at Canada Life Ireland and was also CEO at Setanta Asset Management and at Lifetime Assurance. His early career was at Bank of Ireland Group and he has also been a full time member of faculty at the IMI. Ruairi holds B.B.S. and Msc. (Mgt) degrees from Trinity College. He is a participant in the 2015 International Directors Programme at Insead Business School.



aebhric mcgibney.png Aebhric McGibney

 Aebhric McGibney was appointed to the Board of CIE in October 2011 and was reappointed in November 2014. He is the Policy and Communications Director with the Dublin Chamber of Commerce with responsibility for government and international affairs, public relations and member communications. Previously he worked as a lecturer, economic consultant and as Senior Economist with IBEC. He Holds a M.Litt. (Economics) from Trinity College Dublin and was awarded the Dean’s List Award from University College Dublin for his MBA in 2001.



Niamh Walsh.jpg Niamh Walsh

Niamh Walsh was appointed to the Board on July 24th 2015. She has 25 years Investment Banking experience gained in London, Hong Kong and Dublin. Her more recent roles include Chief Risk Officer for JPMorgan Bank Dublin plc and Joint CEO for Bear Stearns Bank plc. She is a member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants and the Chartered Institute of Secretaries and Administrators.



Tom OConnor.jpgTom O'Connor, Worker Director

Thomas was appointed to the Board of CIÉ in December 2013 under the Worker Participation (State Enterprises) Acts, 1977 to 2001. Thomas works as a bus driver based in Ringsend Garage. He is a member of the National Bus and Rail Union, sits on the National Executive and has served as Dublin Branch Secretary since 2010. He previously worked in the electrical and signage industry.



NoPhoto.png    Vacant, Worker Director

   This position is currently vacant.






tommyWynne.pngTommy Wynne, Worker Director

Tommy Wynne was first appointed to the Board on 1st December 2013 under the Worker Participation (State Enterprises) Acts, 1977 to 2001. Tommy joined Iarnród Éireann as a depotman in 1991 and became a train driver in 1994. He is currently the Chairman of the Transport Sector and Utilities and Construction Division of SIPTU.



john moloney.png John Moloney, Worker Director

John Moloney was appointed to the CIÉ Board in December 2005 under the Worker Participation (State Enterprises) Acts, 1977 to 2001. John joined Bus Éireann in 1978 and works in Capwell Garage in Cork as a bus driver. He is a member of the NBRU.